Unless otherwise stated, all sessions start at Pontypool Active Living Centre (PALC).

Mondays and Wednesdays at 6.30pm – Tuesday and Thursday at 7pm.

Free Wheelers Group (Buggy Running) is at Midday on Friday.

Shorter routes will be offered at every training session, so don’t be put off if you think it’s too far, or too fast. We offer sessions for everyone. Beginners are most welcome – you will offered structured training specifically tailored for level of ability.

 

A Printable version of the plan is available here

September 2019 Schedule

First Steps/Juniors Speedwork Club Run Race Free Wheelers
Mon 2 September First Steps / Juniors 
Tue 3 September Speedwork Canal Pyramid Session 1-2-3-3-2-1-1-2-3
Wed 4 September First Steps 
Thu 5 September Club Run – 7 miles hilly around Pontypool https://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/RouteMap/MyRoutes/528641
Fri 6 September Free Wheelers 
Newport 5 Mile  https://stdavidshospicecare.org/event-details/11455/
Sat 7 September Roman Run  https://www.merthyr.gov.uk/council/mayoral/the-mayor/mayors-events/roman-run/
Sun 8 September Wentwood Trail 10k https://sites.google.com/view/chepstowharriersrunningclub/open-races/10k-trail-series
Mon 9 September First Steps / Juniors – SPORTS DAY 
Tue 10 September Speedwork Off Road Hills in Park
Wed 11 September First Steps 
Thu 12 September Club Run-9 mile steady https://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/RouteMap/MyRoutes/368165
Fri 13 September Free Wheelers 
Sat 14 September parkrun  
Sun 15 September Scenic 7 http://islwynrunningclub.org.uk/Scenic-7.php
Mon 16 September First Steps / Juniors 
Tue 17 September Speedwork 6 x 800
Wed 18 September First Steps 
Thu 19 September Club Run-8mile Undulating https://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/RouteMap/MyRoutes/301971
Fri 20 September Free Wheelers 
Sat 21 September Black Mountains Fell Race – 17miles From Llanbedr Village, Crickhowell, 12 noon
Sun 22 September Swansea Bay 10k http://www.swanseabay10k.com
Mon 23 September First Steps / Juniors 
Tue 24 September Speedwork 400m session around Rugby ground
Wed 25 September First Steps 
Thu 26 September Club Run-10k easy https://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/RouteMap/MyRoutes/304770
Fri 27 September Free Wheelers 
Sat 28 September parkrun  
Sun 29 September Forest of Dean 1/2 Marathon https://www.forestofdean-halfmarathon.co.uk/autumn/index.php

 

209 Events

A great selection of training plans from London Marathon Winner Mike Gratton.

10K in 8 Weeks

‘Get you Around’
sub 1 hour
sub 45 mins
sub 38 mins

Half Marathon Training Plan

Prepared by Mike Gratton, 1983 London Marathon Winner

From complete beginners to seasoned, experienced runners

Pont-y-pwl & District Runners caters for anyone who has a passion to run and seeks the company of like-minded people to run with.

Club Nights

Tuesday & Thursday – 7pm

We meet at every Tuesday and Thursday at Pontypool Active Living Centre, Torfaen – to run together over various distances and terrains.

There is also an additional group meeting at 6.30pm every Monday and Wednesday for a short run of around 5 miles; for all abilities, but predominently those transitioning from First Steps to Main Club nights.

First Steps

Monday & Wednesday – 6.30pm

First Steps is our free introductory running group at Pontypool Active Living Centre. Structured training programmes to suit complete beginners in a relaxed and informal introduction/return to running.

Junior Section

Monday – 6.30pm

Our Junior Section was set up for under 12’s. We meet at Pontypool Park and train together whatever the weather. The Juniors enjoy exercising in a fun environment, lots of games but also technique skills – they love their Mo Farah ‘arms’ practice!

Free Wheelers

Friday – Midday

A new group catering for running with young children. We work to remove all barriers to improving fitness – and believe having young children is no reason not to run! Each session will be held in the beautiful setting of Pontypool Park.

Our Partners

Working in partnership with...