Unless otherwise stated, all sessions start at Pontypool Active Living Centre (ALC).

Mondays and Wednesdays at 6.30pm – Tuesday and Thursday at 7pm.

Free Wheelers Group (Buggy Running) is at Midday on Friday.

Shorter routes will be offered at every training session, so don’t be put off if you think it’s too far, or too fast. We offer sessions for everyone. Beginners are most welcome – you will offered structured training specifically tailored for level of ability.

March 2019 Schedule

Sat 2 Mar 19 Gwent League Cross Country Blaise Castle
Sun 3 Mar 19 Newport Half Marathon
Mon 4 Mar 19 First Steps
Tue 5 Mar 19 Speedwork 12 x 60 Secs Hills in the park
Wed 6 Mar 19 First Steps
Thu 7 Mar 19 8 Mile Steady https://www.goodrunguide.co.uk/RouteMap/MyRoutes/661713
Fri 8 Mar 19
Sat 9 Mar 19 Pontypool parkrun
Sun 10 Mar 19 Gwent Leisure Centre League XC Glebelands
Mon 11 Mar 19 First Steps
Tue 12 Mar 19 Speedwork 6 x 800m in the Park
Wed 13 Mar 19 First Steps
Thu 14 Mar 19 9 Mile Undulating
Fri 15 Mar 19
Sat 16 Mar 19 Pontypool parkrun
Sun 17 Mar 19
Mon 18 Mar 19 First Steps
Tue 19 Mar 19 Speedwork 200 – 400 – 600 Pyramid
Wed 20 Mar 19 First Steps
Thu 21 Mar 19 7 Mile Threshold
Fri 22 Mar 19
Sat 23 Mar 19 Pontypool parkrun
Sun 24 Mar 19
Mon 25 Mar 19 First Steps
Tue 26 Mar 19 6mile Steady
Wed 27 Mar 19 Track Session 3 x Broken Mile £1.50 Cwmbran Stadium
Thu 28 Mar 19 Chepstow Park night race/ Social Run Championship Race (sold out!)
Fri 29 Mar 19
Sat 30 Mar 19 Pontypool parkrun
Sun 31 Mar 19

209 Events

A great selection of training plans from London Marathon Winner Mike Gratton.

10K in 8 Weeks

‘Get you Around’
sub 1 hour
sub 45 mins
sub 38 mins

Half Marathon Training Plan

Prepared by Mike Gratton, 1983 London Marathon Winner

From complete beginners to seasoned, experienced runners

Pont-y-pwl & District Runners caters for anyone who has a passion to run and seeks the company of like-minded people to run with.

Club Nights

Tuesday & Thursday – 7pm

We meet at every Tuesday and Thursday at Pontypool Active Living Centre, Torfaen – to run together over various distances and terrains.

There is also an additional group meeting at 6.30pm every Monday and Wednesday for a short run of around 5 miles; for all abilities, but predominently those transitioning from First Steps to Main Club nights.

First Steps

Monday & Wednesday – 6.30pm

First Steps is our free introductory running group at Pontypool Active Living Centre. Structured training programmes to suit complete beginners in a relaxed and informal introduction/return to running.

Junior Section

Monday – 6.30pm

Our Junior Section was set up for under 12’s. We meet at Pontypool Park and train together whatever the weather. The Juniors enjoy exercising in a fun environment, lots of games but also technique skills – they love their Mo Farah ‘arms’ practice!

Free Wheelers

Friday – Midday

A new group catering for running with young children. We work to remove all barriers to improving fitness – and believe having young children is no reason not to run! Each session will be held in the beautiful setting of Pontypool Park.

Our Partners

Working in partnership with...